You can save any edits you make to the templates used to export the assets to code. However, you will see a notice that asks you to make your own backup of the template edits.
The reason for this is that Figma provides two ways to store plugin information:
- localStorage (Figma’s version of the Web Storage API), and
- Node storage (storing data to a specific node in the Figma document tree)
The plugin at the moment uses
localStorage which works great but due to its nature is not guaranteed to persist forever. In fact, if you logout of your Figma account you will lose your localStorage data. This is why the warning is there to make your own backup of the template.